First KnitPicks Order

I ran down to the post office on Thursday morning hoping the yarn from KnitPicks for the Capricious Ruffle shawl would be in, but … so sad … it wasn’t. I resigned myself to having to wait through Easter weekend for it. I don’t do patience well.  I came home, tracked it, and found out it was still in Kitchener, west of Toronto and beyond.  But my husband came home around 4pm and he had the package with him … happy dance!  (Out of curiosity, I tracked it one more time and sure ’nuff, it was supposedly still in Kitchener.)  So here it is:

KnitPicks Shadow

It’s KnitPicks Shadow, Hot Rod, in laceweight merino.  (And that’s the tester shawl underneath it, along with my favourite 3.5mm hook.)

This is my virgin laceweight wool project, so I’ve nothing to compare the yarn to.  It’s not as soft as I’d imagined it would be, and the thickness ranges anywhere from a smidge finer than laceweight up to fingering weight – there’s no consistency to it, and I don’t see much heathering, if any at all.  YET I LOVE IT!  It suits me to a ‘T’, and most importantly, it suits the shawl.  I do hope to, one day, see it made in other fibres.

2 Comments

  1. Tiffany said,

    April 15, 2009 at 5:02 am

    Ooooh, you lucky girl, that yarn is yummy! What a great surprise that your husband had it with him and you didn’t have to wait longer for it. :o)

  2. withasigh said,

    April 15, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    Oh, I know. Here in Ontario mail is delivered just once a day. Since we moved to the country we have to go to the PO to pick it up. It never crossed my mind that I’d have a second chance for it in one day!


Leave a Reply

